Alberta Conservation Association Board of Directors Meeting Minutes January 16, 2024 7:00 – 7:30 PM Via Teams



In Attendance: Bill Abercrombie (Chairman) Alberta Trappers Association

Robert Gruszecki (Vice Chairman) Alberta Hunter Education Instructors' Assoc.

Sandra Mellon (Treasurer) Business Representative

Chuck Priestley (Secretary)

Lisa Holdaway (Director)

Robin Barnes (Director)

Public at Large Northeast Region

Public at Large South Region

Public at Large Northwest Region

Fred Calverley (Director) Trout Unlimited Canada

Gordon Burton (Director)

Alberta Professional Outfitters Society

Ken Bailey (Director)

Pheasant Forever, Alberta Council

Dr. Lu Carbyn (Director) Nature Alberta

Neil Keown (Director)

Alberta Backcountry Hunters and Anglers

Brent Watson (Director)

Alberta Bowhunters Association

Randy Collins (Director) Northern Board Liaison

Richard Mellon (Director) Wild Sheep Foundation Alberta

Rick Blakeley (Director)

Alberta Wildlife Federation Representative

Dr. Mark Boyce (Director)

ACA/UofA Chair in Fisheries and Wildlife

Todd Zimmerling President and CEO, ACA

Lori-Jeanne Edwards Chief Finance and Information Officer, ACA

Marlene Montgomery Recording Secretary, ACA

Regrets: Vince Aiello (Director) Public at Large Central Region

Sue Cotterill Minister's Representative - FP, EPA
Vacant ACA Academic Representative
Vacant Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta

1. Call to Order

ACA President and CEO, Todd Zimmerling called the January 16, 2024 ACA Board of Directors meeting to order at 7:03 PM.

ACA BOD Meeting Minutes

Conserving Alberta's Wild Side

January 16, 2024 Page **1** of **2**

#101, 9 Chippewa Road, Sherwood Park, Alberta T8A 6J7 • Phone: 780-410-1999 • Toll free: 1-877-969-9091 • Email: info@ab-conservation.com

2. TransAlta Land Purchase

MOTION # 01/24 Moved by: Gordon Burton

Seconded by: Fred Calverley

Move that the ACA Board of Directors approve the purchase of the TransAlta Land proposal using \$19,675.00 of HSF funds with the rest of the funds coming from the Federal Government.

MOTION CARRIED

3. Discussion Regarding Dr. Ruckstuhl

MOTION # 02/24 Moved by: Gordon Burton Seconded by: Ken Bailey

Move that the ACA Board of Directors accept the recommendation provided in the Disqualification From Receiving Funds From ADA Report supplied by the President and CEO and disqualify Dr. Kathreen Ruckstuhl and graduate student Tanisha Henry from receiving ACA Grant funds as per ACA policy and documentation provided.

MOTION CARRIED

MOTION # 03/24 Moved by: Rick Blakeley

Seconded by: Gordon Burton

Move that the ACA Board of Directors disqualify graduate student Magdalena Storkova from receiving ACA Grant funds as per ACA policy and documentation provided.

MOTION CARRIED

4. Adjournment

MOTION # 04/24 Moved by: Gordon Burton

Seconded by: Robin Barnes

Move that the January 16, 2024 meeting of the ACA Board of Directors adjourn at 7:24 PM.

MOTION CARRIED

(Chairman)

ACA BOD Meeting Minutes

(Secretary)

January 16, 2024 F

Page 2 of 2

Conserving Alberta's Wild Side